Japan 2014 post 48

November nineteenth
This morning when I got up, Catherine said I could go back to bed if I wanted. She had Patrol Duty, greeting the kids on their way to school, so she said it would be most helpful if I stayed upstairs for when Atsushi woke up. He ended up waking up before she left, and going with her.
For breakfast I had a bagel. One half had spicy jam on it, and the other half had blueberry jam. It was a bit of an odd combination because the bagel itself was flavoured too. But it was still good. The warm shower afterwards felt great on such a chilly morning. We’ve got a kerosene heater out, and a neat “hot mat” (basically a carpet that is heated electrically), but Japanese houses aren’t insulated so it’s still rather chilly in the mornings.
There were no plans for me today, but it turned out to be a very productive day. In the morning alone I did my blogging (writing and typing), worked out, talked to Morgan, talked to my family, worked on my home designs, and did parkour! I didn’t work on any flips today since my legs are still sore from yesterday, but I did lots of other stuff. My biggest accomplishment was doing 360 precisions. Where I jump from one spot/point to another, spinning 360° in midair as I jump. I also practiced back 360 pres, which are the same thing except starting from facing backwards, and standing 360 pres, where I jump, spin, and land on the same thing. After that, I decided to try a very hard move called a lunar eclipse. This is a 360 precision, but off of one leg, then landing on the same leg. Today’s the first time I’ve been able to land them!
For lunch I had another bagel half, and Catherine made me delicious udon. She had gotten special tea bag soup packages from one of her adult students, and they made an incredible broth. Afterwards I worked on some different architecture, and Catherine and I had a good conversation.
I read and wrote in my Japanese journal a bit later in the afternoon, although Ayako wasn’t here to check it. I guess I’ll have to ask her a different day. Instead I did some review in my Japanese textbook, then afterwards worked on my story. I’m really pleased with the way it’s coming along!
Catherine and I made supper together tonight, and I have to say it was pretty amazing. Catherine and I made an awesome avocado, tomato, spinach, and arugula salad, with a variety of spices on top. She cooked up some incredible bulgogie. We had nice hearty couscous, and it was beautifully seasoned as well. But what may have been my favourite part of the meal were the sweet potatoes. But they weren’t any old yams, using an internet recipe I found they turned out to be amazing. We peeled and cubed them, then spread them in a single layer on a baking tray. Then we drizzled on some oil and honey, cinnamon, salt, and pepper. We then baked it for half an hour, and they were superb! Like candy!! Catherine, Ayana, and I just loved them.
After supper Catherine and I did the dishes, and now it’s time to go to bed, I’ve got a big day tomorrow, so I hope I sleep well!
Christopher image image

Leave a Reply

