Japan 2014 post 34

My day started early today. Earlier than I would’ve liked, despite trying to block out the sunlight. But I did manage to sneak in one extra hour. Once I got out of bed I did my devotional, wrote yesterday’s journal, then had a bowl of granola for breakfast. The weather was really nice. Not that warm, but sunny. It would be perfect for doing parkour later in the day. Reiko and I studies Japanese this morning. We did the same journaling exercise as before, and I read all three entries. I’m a bit nervous, because tomorrow is our all Japanese day. Although I do have three chances for an English explanation. I’m sure I’ll be exhausted by the end of the day!
I did my workout, blogged, and had lunch. Reiko had prepared me some delicious rice and vegetable soup, and a piece of fried chicken. She had also made Onigiri. Delicious! Once we finished eating, we went to the park and Momoka followed us shortly. I hadn’t even know she was home, she was being so quiet! Not long after we got there, Machiko and her son arrived too. They had brought their own cameras! The five of us spent a few hours in the park while Reiko and I shot a video, and Machiko and her son took pictures and clips too. I was pretty tired and sore from all the parkour yesterday, but I think the video turned out alright. I was certainly tired after shooting! When we all got home I collapsed onto my futon and edited the video (find it here http://youtu.be/aEVKbLwdCDo!) for a while until I was somewhat rested. Then I joined everyone for snacks downstairs.
When Machiko and her son left, I spent a good chunk of the afternoon in bed, just watching parkour videos and resting up for tonight’s volleyball game. Once I felt sufficiently rested I went downstairs, just as Reiko was coming up from her nap. We visited for a while as I worked in my architecture, then had a small bowl of curry and rice before leaving. Not Korean lice, as it sometimes sounds with an accent. It was very tasty.
When we went to volleyball it was pretty much the same group as last time. There were a few people missing, and one younger man that I hadn’t met before. He had been playing since junior high, so we was really good. We was very soft spoken and gentle, but boy was he a strong player. But smart too, sometimes he spiked the ball so hard that no one even knew what to do, or that the receiver was knocked over (that’s why we were using a soft ball), or sometimes he just barely tapped it, causing it to drop softly in front of the net. He was a very smart player, and serious about the game too. I was on his team for most of the games, which was great. But it was a lot of fun playing against him too. Due to a good amount of stretching I wasn’t to sore for volleyball, but even once we got home I was super sore. Hideo was home when we returned, so we were able to have supper with him. I had another big bowl of curry and rice, and a plate of salad. Reiko had bought a big bottle of salt and litchi, so I had that to drink!
After all the physical activity of the past few days, I’m super tired. I think I’ll sleep well tonight!
Christopher P.S. This first picture is from Dōman park yesterdayimageimage

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by emerson sanford on November 5, 2014 at 5:25 am

    Hi, Christopher: I have been reading your blogs daily and looking at your videos. You seem to be having a great time, and so much energy! We look forward to seeing you in Canmore in about 3.5 weeks. I found your earlier comments on not being able to sleep in the daytime interesting: something else that you inherited from Dampa. I have never been able to sleep in the daytime, except when I am sick! I hope that you continue to enjoy your stay. Don’t get overtired with all the physical activity. Love, Dampa.

    Reply

    • Thank you Dampa! I have been having a great time, it’s flying past so quickly. I’m looking forward to seeing you too! Only 3.5 weeks? Wow, it really has flown past!
      I had no idea you couldn’t sleep during the day too, how interesting…. Can things like that really be passed down genetically? Glad to know I’m not alone in that!
      I’m ging to take a break these next few days, although I’m sure it will be hard!
      Love you lots, Christopher

      Reply

  2. Posted by ecosophian on November 5, 2014 at 12:56 pm

    How did your japanese-only day go? Sounds like it would be tough!!!

    Reply

  3. Posted by paula louise beck on November 5, 2014 at 10:52 pm

    I too have been following your blogs everyday. What an interesting time you have been having and are so fortunate to have such welcoming and kind people to stay with., We look forward to your blogs Christopher; thanks for keeping us informed. Stay well, Love, Grandma Beck

    Reply

    • I’m glad to hear that! I have been so fortunate, everyone I’ve encountered has really been a blessing. I’ve met such amazing people! But I’m missing my amazing people in Canada too, and I can’t wait to see you this winter! Thank you for reading my blogs, I’m glad that they’re being enjoyed. Lots of love, Christopher!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

