Japan 2014 post 25

October twenty sixth
I was hoping that after my late night last night I would be able to sleep in a fair bit. The reality was that I woke up around seven. But I told myself to go back to sleep, and I slept until eight. Again I fell back asleep for another hour. Then I decided to get up.
Since we had the welcome party last night, I hadn’t done that days journal! So I pulled out my notebook and did that. I wrote for about half an hour. Once I finished writing, I jumped in the shower, then I I had a bowl of granola and milk, a piece of garlic bread, and some salad. A bit of an odd combination, but it was still delicious.
After breakfast I went back up to my room started to blog what I had wrote, but Reiko asked me if I wanted to study together for a while. So paused my work, and the two of us studied for a while. We used my Japanese workbook as a, starting point, and Reiko found words that she thought were really common. Then she used them in sentences, and we went over all of the different forms. I was also able to answer some of her English questions. She was wondering about he uses of in/at/on. For instance, “I’m in home” isn’t right. But “I’m at home”, or “I’m in my house” is. It’s weird for me to be trying to teach English, because even though I know when something doesn’t sound right, I can’t necessarily provided a rule or reason. I just know it doesn’t feel right. After our study time I did a workout before Skyping my family. We talked for a while, then I did my devotional.
Around 11:30 or so, Reiko, Hideo, and I drove to the nearest station and got on a train to Keito’s school. For the first stretch of the journey the train was above ground, but eventually it dipped down and became a subway. Keito’s school is right in the heart of Tokyo, near Tokyo Dome, so it was about a 40 minute trip. The reason we were going was to check out Keito’s culture festival, but once we saw Keito, and his classroom (his class had gone to Malaysia in September, so there were pictures of the trip, and pewter bowls that the students had made!), we pretty much just headed out. We looked around a little bit, and saw a room with train displays in it, including model shinkansens on a track. That was kind of cool. We also checked out a room with Rube Goldberg machines in it. I love Rube Goldbergs, so that was fun to see. And there was one other room, a sale of sorts, set up by the PTA but we didn’t buy anything. Reiko said it was a bit omoshirokunakatta. Not so interesting. Though I did like the Rube Goldberg machines! And I kept seeing awesome parkour spots on campus, but of course I couldn’t utilize them.
We had a cool dish with potato wedges, salmon, and cheese for lunch. Along with a bit of pizza, and some salad. When we finished eating, Hideo and Reiko went for a nap, and I chilled in my room. I finished the blogging that I started in the morning, wrote some fiction, and watched some videos on youtube. I wanted to go to the park and train, but Reiko was asleep, and I didn’t think I could find it alone. So I just chilled and watched parkour videos. I did extra exercises thought the day as well.
Sometime in the late afternoon Machiko’s elder son (who’s almost exactly a year older than me) came over. He had a gift for me, and a cake for Keito, who’s birthday is the day after tomorrow. The first was an awesome sweater. It’s really comfortable, and super warm too! What a great gift, and what a great person Machiko is. Her son stayed around, since Keito was still at school. So I Reiko and I gave him an English lesson. He wanted to know about in, at, on, from, find (I.e. I find her interesting/I find this fun, etc), joy, and isn’t she/he/it. They’re good questions, and they were tricky to explain. But I think he at least sort of understood.
Keito came home around 7:30, so we all sat down for supper. We had a shrimp salad, an egg dish (like a rolled up omelet), a beef and onion dish, and what I would describe as sushi salad. There was raw salmon, a different type of raw fish, rice, seaweed, and spices. Then we sprinkled ikura (fish eggs) on top. It was all really good. Reiko wondered what we do with fish eggs in Canada, as they’re not that popular there. I had to tell her I didn’t know! Do any of you? I think she was somewhat surprised to hear that we fed the guts (and eggs if there were any) to the chickens.
After supper we had the cake. It sort of tasted like pudding, but with a hard crust, and it was delicious. After supper I planned on going to bed, but the guys invited me to play a game of monopoly with them and Momoka. I always like board games, so I said yes. Luckily the board was in English and Japanese! It was a really good game, and perhaps more interesting then usual because I had to use tons of Japanese. We stopped at ten thirty, and I came in third (even though I had the most property!), but it was fun. I said goodnight and went to bed, and was about to turn off the lights when the guys called me from downstairs and asked (in English) if I wanted to have a drink. At first I thought “What?!”, then we all had a glass of milk before going to our respective beds. What a good day!
Christopher  image

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by jacquee on October 27, 2014 at 11:28 pm

    We call fish eggs ROE here. And I think there are different grades of roe. The most expensive (& considered a delicacy & VERY expensive) I think comes from salmon or sturgeon or both…….I’m not sure. I’ve never tasted it. Do they eat a lot of raw fish there? And do they eat much tofu? the meals sound delicious!

    Reply

    • Ok, so we do have them. I knew that you could get them at fancy restaurants, but what about elsewhere? Is that the same as caviar?
      They do eat a fair bit of raw fish, usually in sushi form. Tofu is fairly common too.
      The meals have been delicious! Thank you

      Reply

  2. Posted by jacquee on October 30, 2014 at 7:30 am

    YES! That’s the right name for the expensive ‘fish eggs’. And yes, you can buy it in some selective stores but as I’ve never looked for it, I don’t know where to look for it. What does the word ‘sushi’ mean? Love to get your replies back!

    Reply

    • Yes, amazing creatures! They look so prehistoric. Maybe they are? The forestry farm in saskatoon actually has some young ones right now. Dad and I wondered how long it would be until they outgrew the tanks! Sushi is a Japanese dish of cold, vinegar flavoured rice balls or rolls garnished with either vegetables or raw seafood, or both. It’s very good!

      Reply

  3. Posted by jacquee on October 30, 2014 at 9:04 am

    If you google sturgeon & click on Wikipedia, you will find where caviar comes from. My cousin in Alta. (that worked for the fisheries dept. with the gov’t) first introduced me to the sturgeon. An ancient bottom feeder that grows to an IMMENSE size. enjoy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

