Japan 2014 post 22

October twenty third
I think I can say that today was very productive. I woke up early and jumped in the shower before sitting down to have breakfast. I got myself a bowl of yogurt, honey, and granola, had a mikan, and a few leftovers from last night. When I was done I blogged my journal from yesterday, then did my workout. I tried to Skype my family, and my friend Morgan, but no one was around. So instead I went outside and practiced some flips for a while. But they weren’t really going the way I wanted them to be, and my shin really hurt for some reason. So I went back inside. I worked on my story for a while, then did a bunch of research on stoves, and how I’m going to fund my house. But I’m not much closer to choosing a stove. I’m also a bit worried about funding…. I’m not sure how I’m going to earn the money I need to build my house. It’s much less expensive than most houses, and even a lot of tiny houses, but it’s still a lot for a fourteen year old. I watched a few parkour tutorials, then went downstairs to eat.
We had an instant rice and veggie dish for lunch, which Catherine was a bit sceptical about. But it turned out to be pretty good. She was also baking bread, and a quiche, so the whole downstairs smelled amazing. I could hardly wait for supper. After I finished eating I helped with the dishes, then worked on a concept design for a while. Catherine had a ton of mochi in the freezer that she wanted to be eaten, so I did my part and ate a few with cheese on top, but there’s still 48 or so to go.
When Ayana came home from school, her, Atsushi, and I hung out in the tatami room for a while, then Catherine took Ayana to her piano lesson. Atsu and I met Catherine in the park on her way home, and she recorded me doing some sideflips so we could try to figure out what was going wrong with them. I tried to put into practice what I had seen in the tutorial. After, we did some training together. Ayana joined us for a while once her piano lesson was done, and I helped her with her lazy vaults.
When we got home I review some stuff in my Japanese textbook, then I went on my iPad for a while. Just before Supper I walked over to the vending machines, with the intention of buying a banana milk. But when I got there, they were all out of banana milk. Instead I picked up some sort of peach drink, which I’ve never tried before. Not much later, I sat down at the table and we had the quiche. It tasted divine. I made a simple salad with assorted salad greens, tomato, and cucumber. It was tasty too, if I do say so myself. The drink was pretty good, but I don’t think I’ll buy it again, it’s so sweet. Almost peach syrup! Although with a name like ‘Nectar’ I should’ve expected it.
After supper Ayana and I worked on a tiny hose design together, that was pretty fun. Then we went into the tatami room and had a planking competition. Then a balancing competition. And a quiet contest, and a stillness contest. It was fun.
I feel like I did a fair bit today, and I’m pretty tired now! So long for now.
Christopher  image

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by jacquee on October 24, 2014 at 10:22 am

    Don’t worry about choosing the right stove. It will fall into place when the time comes. And funding always happens when you need it most. You are having such a great experience in Japan & I & the rest of us so appreciate you blogging your time there! I love hearing about the food & what you do everyday. We are with you. Enjoy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

