Japan 2014 post 21

October twenty second
This morning Reiko picked me up at 9:40 to play volleyball. We went to Kompao (the community centre), where they have a big gym. Incidentally, Catherine also teaches a class there. When we got inside I changed into the shorts and t-shirt that Reiko had brought for me. I really liked the shorts, they feel great. Then I got out the scoreboard as Reiko and Machiko set up the net. It was fairly high, 190 cm I think. Like with tennis, Reiko and I practiced a bit before we actually started playing, and she walked we through what the different roles and positions were. It was hard for me! We were playing with a softer, larger, more bouncy ball than I regular volleyball, which felt a lot better (it didn’t hurt) but it was harder for me to get the hang of hitting it where I wanted it. I said good morning to Reiko’s friends as they filtered in, and then we split into teams. There were eight of us, so four to a team. We started playing, and boy they were hardcore! We played about seven games, two hours of volleyball. It’s a lot harder than tennis, and more physically demanding, but I loved it! It was always fun, always challenging, everyone was laughing and having a great time, and everyone was a good sport. Both teams won some and lost some, but everyone played amazingly. Reiko said I was a quick learner, and I think I played well. I certainly had a blast. I made my fair share of mistakes, but I think I also had some great plays too. I loved when I had to jump or dive or slide for the ball. It feels awesome when you have to slid under the ball as it plummets to the ground, you just get your hands under it and give it enough of a hit to let your teammates take over. Anyways, it was just a great time. After we finished, everyone went home to change, and I few of us went out for lunch together afterwards. There were seven of us who met at Jusco, five players, and two of the women brought their kids. One of them was a twelve year old boy, and he was really nice.
We had lunch at a pizza and pasta place in Jusco. I’ve never been here before, but it was really good. I had an amazing pasta, and we all had all you can eat pizza. They only had two flavours, unlike the other place with all you can eat pizza, but it was still good. They also had a desert pizza (caramel sauce), but we only had one of those, which was too bad because it was dynamite. The whole day was lots of fun, and I used and heard a lot of Japanese, so it was kind of studying too!
When I got home I just relaxed for a while. I had gotten the blogging done before Reiko picked me up, so instead I did my exercises, then worked on my fiction story. Since I hadn’t done tons of writing, it flowed a lot better than it had yesterday. It’s coming along fairly well. I also did some architecture, although it was mostly just researching stoves. Now instead of two to choose from, I have four. I was supposed to be narrowing down, not adding on! It’s just so hard to choose… I walked over to Roger’s to get a little something for Yatchan, since it’s his birthday. He was home from work super early, so I was able to give it to him as soon as I got home. It wasn’t much, just some chocolate and gummies, but I think he liked them. There were so many things to choose from, I had to restrain myself from buying anything for me! It was raining pretty hard out when I went to Roger’s, which was too bad because I was hoping to do parkour. Hopefully tomorrow won’t be so rainy.
I made a salad tonight with lettuce, cucumber, tomato, baby greens, and salad spice. We also had fried fish and chicken, and mochi with cheese melted on top. So good.
Well, lots I want to do tomorrow, so I’m going to go to bed now!
Christopher  image

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by jacquee on October 23, 2014 at 7:00 am

    Didn’t realize that volleyball was played differently or with different balls. I played volleyball in my younger years & ‘spikes’ were big then. Very much a ‘team’ sport. You seem to have connected with a group of very athletic-minded people. And your architectural eye will, I’m sure, benefit you.

    Reply

    • I don’t think the rules were different than regular volleyball (although I’m not sure), but I think we just used a softer ball because regular volleyballs are so hard! I didn’t know that you played volleyball, did you enjoy it? I found spiking pretty hard, if I hit the ball very hard it went way out! Although I did enjoy being in the attack position.
      Thank you, christopher

      Reply

  2. Posted by ecosophian on October 23, 2014 at 9:18 pm

    volleyball sounds pretty fun, and I’m glad you caught on. Grandpa would be proud! He played pretty competitively in university. I think he was on a national team (?) Sounds like Aunty Jacquee was pretty good too!

    Reply

  3. Posted by jacquee on October 24, 2014 at 11:07 am

    Yes, the spiking position is special. You are up there in the air & ready to deliver your blow. I never competed professionally but enjoyed the sport. And I spiked a lot. ‘course that was many years ago!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

