Japan 2014 post 19

October twentieth
After a hearty bowl of porridge for breakfast, I took Ayana to the tennis courts to meet her group. When I got home I grabbed my notebook and started writing. Since I hadn’t done any blogging during my weekend vacation, there was a lot to do. I wrote for most of the morning, but I took a break to skype my parents, and to FaceTime Morgan. Catherine had a babies class to teach, but I stayed home to write. For lunch we had thick udon noodles, with avocado, tomato, and meat on top. It was a bit if an odd combination, but it tasted great. I had to eat quickly though, because Catherine and I had to go to the Shukaijo to teach an adults class. I had met two of the students two years ago, but there was one who I had never met before. After her regular start to the class, going around and sharing that week’s news, I talked to them about my life in Canada. I enjoyed talking to them, and they were really impressed. I showed them the farm parkour video (find it here https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=7fOAIzwQQnw) so that they could sort of see the farm. They enjoyed it. I think the class went really well. Catherine said that I was much better at my speech than I was the first time I had done it.
Ayana had requested that Catherine pick her up from school, so I stayed home. I wrote some more, and did my exercises. When they got back Catherine made me a snack of rice, chicken, and a hard boiled egg. After I finished we went back to the Shukaijo for the next set of lessons. But after I bought a seven-up, Sioko picked me up and we went to her house to make Gyoza. They’re dumplings stuffed with pork and cabbage, and it think they’re the same dish that I had with Yatchan at the noodle place. When we got to her house, we started cutting up the cabbage, and garlic tops (I believe). When they were cut up, we mixed them up with (Canadian) pork. As I mixed, Sioko put in a bunch of spices and stuff. She had bought 150 small, round, pastry shells, so we started putting the filling into them and sealing them up. There was a special way to fold them, and I found it kind of tricky, but Sioko said I was doing really well. After we ran out of filling (we didn’t use all 150 shells) we put the dumplings into a frying pan and fried them and steamed them at the same time. When they were done we dipped them on soy sauce and ate them with rice. We had Salt and Litchi to drink too, it was super delicious. During supper I showed Sioko the parkour video Ayana and I had made, and she really liked it. So I showed her a few more, and we started talking about the sport. She was really interested, and we had a good conversation. She even offered to show me where there was a nice big grassy place for me to train someday. I gave her the link to my youtube channel, Morgan’s, and the link to the Art of Motion event, which she wanted to watch. I’m glad she was so interested!
For desert we had homemade shaved ice with melon flavoured syrup and a thick, sweet, milky topping. I don’t have shaved ice very often, so it was especially delicious.
When she dropped me off at home, I said a big thank you. Then I had a second supper. Catherine had made a beef roast in the slow cooker with potatoes, carrots, and turnips. We had rice on the side (as well as a few of the Gyoza I had brought back), and it was dynamite. After dishes I did a bit more writing, and talked with Yatchan when he got home from work. It was a good day.
Christopher image image

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Betty Ternier Daniels on October 22, 2014 at 2:01 am

    Parkour video is great. And your adventures inJapan sound marvelous.
    Betty

    Reply

Leave a Reply

