Japan 2014 post 3

October fourth
Today was great. I had an incredible sleep last night, and felt refreshed and well rested when I woke up. I quickly showered and got dressed, then just hung out in my room for a while. Not too long after, my stomach started rumbling, so I went downstairs to look for some a snack. I was rummaging in the fridge when Ayana and Atsushi came down stairs, so I paused my quest for food and played with them for a while. Ayana doesn’t have school today, so she was home with us all day.
A bit later I cut up an apple pear for myself, but in not too long we had breakfast anyways. Catherine made pizza for us!
After breakfast I did some writing upstairs until Maseko and her husband came by. Her husband (an avid cycler) had fixed up a bike for me. I am so grateful! Having a bike gives me much more mobility, and go for bike rides with him too. It’s a very nice bike. I’ve never seen a bike quite like it though, instead of one, it has two sets of breaks, and to shift gears you push the top set to the side. To shift up there’s a small button beside the brake. Also, it’s arcing bike, so it has very thin tires. I have a mountain bike at first, and it took a little while to get used to the thin tires!
Today I did a lot of studying. While Atsushi had a Japanese lesson at Jusco (the mall), Catherine, Ayana, and I sat in a Starbucks and reviewed Japanese grammar and verbs. Later on, we also touched on Kanji, one o the three alphabets used in Japan. Kanji consists of Chinese pictographs, and they have multiple reading and meanings, and even more when they are grouped with other kanji. We put up 110 flashcards around the house to study.
As well as the teacher-student type of studying, although Catherine and I were studying together, I had several interactions with Japanese people. I’m not sure if you could call them conversations, but I had several verbal interactions with Japanese people. A bit of back and forth.
I know so little, and have so much to learn, but I’m also pleased that I can understand as much as I do. I’m starting to see that I can understand more than I can speak. Sometimes I’m able to understand conversations that Catherine is having with people. I often can’t understand every word, but enough to get the jist of it. Sometimes when people are talking to me I can understand everything , if they simplify it, and sometimes I just understand enough to respond. But at the same time, it is very frustrating when I can’t understand, or do understand but can’t respond well.
After an amazing jalapeño, chicken, and gravy sand which for lunch, I did some biking around, including enjoying a grape juice in the nearby shrine park, played with Atsushi and Ayana, and hung out with my friends Yuta and Sayune. They came over around supper when Ayako came to babysit (Ayako is their mother). We played with the kids, and played Mario on the Wii. It was a lot of fun!
We ordered pizza for supper, and I tried each type. There was one with potatoes on it, and it was really good! There were a couple other types that I hadn’t had before, and they were all great. image

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by jacquee on October 7, 2014 at 2:45 am

    That’s a racing bike!! You’ll definitely be getting around pronto! Jacquee

    Reply

  2. Posted by ecosophian on October 7, 2014 at 2:34 pm

    Excellent! Glad your language skills are coming along … all those hours of study at home are paying off!!!

    Reply

  3. Thanks dad!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

