Christmas

So, Christmas is drawing near once again. This Christmas will certainly be interesting for me! This will be our first, hopefully of many, Christmases on the farm and I have been looking forward to it for quiet some time. Our ‘backyard’ has several pine trees in it and we’re planning on decorating one, we won’t be having a tree inside this year, due to la k of space. But we will be bringing in greenery and putting it around the house.
Christmas has always been one of my favourite holidays, and not just for the presents. There’s a feeling that Christmas brings, that you just don’t get any other time of year. With the Roger Whitaker music playing in the background, mugs of steaming cocoa at hand, it’s a very unique and special time. And there’s such joy in walking down the stairs, or opening the door into, the living room, where piles of present lay about. Bulging stockings are hung temptingly, begging for their contents to be emptied.
I love gift giving as much as I love opening presents, and right now I’m working on presents for my siblings and parents in the old shop. Earlier today, while screwing hinges onto Robin’s present, I nearly froze my fingers off. It was a very cold day and I was handling cold metal without gloves. *Face Palm* Woking in the shop is certainly not as easy as it was in the summer! But even though a lot more time and effort are given to make something, it will be even more rewarding to see it in use.
I hope that everyone has a very merry Christmas!
Christopher

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Emerson Sanford on November 21, 2013 at 11:34 pm

    Hi, Christopher: I enjoyed your entry on Christmas. When you talked about decorating a tree in your back yard, it reminded me that your Victoria cousins helped decorate our apple tree and a few others in our back yard last Christmas, and will likely do so again this year. I have a picture of it that I will send you by e-mail as I do not know if it is possible to attach the image to this note.

    I have just finished putting together images for a calendar to send to your great-grandmother for Xmas as we do each year. This year it has a picture of the farm where you live, taken from a hill above the farm, showing the lake and most of the buildings. I will send a copy of that to you a little later.

    Have a wonderful Christmas.

    Love, Dampa

    Reply

  2. Posted by jill on December 13, 2013 at 8:53 pm

    What a delightful introduction to this Christmas season. I am sure you are going to have an extra-ordinary Xmas, with a manger scene?!

    Merry Christmas Christopher!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

