Japan 2012; An epic Adventure post 30/Epilogue

Epilogue/post30 for Sunday
I was elated to be back with dad again, and the thought of being home soon lightened my heart during the treacherous drive home. Unfortunately, Dad and I had been caught in a blizzard. “Probably the worst drive of my life” Dad says. Dad and I spent the drive talking together, except when Dad really needed to concentrate, and sharing details of what we had done the last month. Once we had been driving for quite a while I fell asleep and only woke up when Dad stopped the car to check into a hotel. The blizzard was so bad that we couldn’t continue. Unfortunately the hotel was full, and we had to get back onto the road until we finally found a Motel to stay the night in.
The next day, the drive was fine, and it seemed we were back at home in no time. We made a stop at Station 20 West, whose grand opening had been while I was away, to say hi to Mom. I was so glad to be safely home and I was so happy to see Mom. Then Dad and I drove the rest of the way home and I felt like Saskatoon had so much spare space compared to Saitama. Once we got home I unpacked and hung out with Dad and our cat until the kids got home. It was great to see them again and they were really excited that I was home. Later in the evening I unpacked the presents and goodies that I had bought for them and we spent the evening playing with new toys and munching on Japanese candy. I’m so happy to be home! But I miss Japan already.
My thoughts go now to that fateful day in August when our family met up with the Takasugi’s in Banff. I remember hearing Catherine say that she needed help with teaching in Japan, and me, partly joking, saying that I would help! And Catherine, looking at me seriously and saying,
“You know, you really should come!” And me responding
“Yeah I would love to.”
Then the conversation continued and I got even more excited about the possibility of going to Japan. When Catherine brought the idea forward to my parents and they said yes, my heart kept with joy and I felt like jumping up and down and shouting with joy!
To this day, I still have vivid dreams that I am in Japan and wake up sad. I’m in the midst of saving up for another trip, and look forward to the next time I can go to Japan!
Thank you for sharing the journey with me and if you have any questions or comments please email me at crowshire@gmail.com or leave a comment! Thank you so much.
Christopher Sanford Beck

20130322-124632.jpg

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by ecosophian on March 25, 2013 at 4:15 am

    Welcome home Christopher! We’re so glad you are back.
    And we’re so grateful to Catherine and her lovely family for giving you the chance to have such an amazing adventure!

    Reply

  2. Posted by jacquee on March 25, 2013 at 7:03 am

    I am also gad you are back here, in my life, but then you never really left. I learned a lot thanks to you. And I want also a photo like the one you posted of your very special family. hugs great aunt Jacquee

    Reply

  3. Posted by jill leger on June 28, 2013 at 7:33 pm

    I’m truly delighted to read your writings Christopher, appreciate all the photos too! I still have oodles more to read. What a great adventure you have had in Japan! Now I feel at least I’m getting to know you.Terrific! And now a home-base adventure!
    must sign off for tonight..Even I have to go to bed. Nice spending time with you! Will certainly pass on your blog!
    Great Auntie Jill

    Reply

Leave a Reply

