Japan 2012;An epic adventure post 26

From the journal of Christopher Sanford Beck on November 4, 2012

Yatchan decided to take Ats, Ayana and I to the Jido Centre. The Jido Centre is a community place, mostly for kids to go to after/before school, filled with games and activities that are fun for kids. One of the “activities” that they have is a slanted room. So it’s a regular room,but slanted (with mats on the opposite wall) to demonstrate gravity. We had a really good time there, and spent a lot of our time on the science floor. Once we were ready to leave, we picked Catherine up from the lesson she had be teaching and made our way to Musashi Uruwa, the nearest train station to we’re we lived. We did some shopping ,and I bought some more of my presents to take home, before stopping for lunch at one of the many restaurants in the station area. We all had a good time visiting together and I tried not to focus on the fact that this was one of the last time we would all be together, since I left in just three days.
For the afternoon, we all hung out and played together at home and also outside, with the neighbours. After supper, Yatchan took me out to Jusco were I finished the present shopping and bought myself some HeatTech clothes. HeatTech makes SUPER warm undergarments, such as long johns and undershirts, that are extremely light weight and they dry extremely quickly. I bought two pairs of long johns and two undershirts and put them on as soon as we got home, sooooo warm! On the way back to the car, coming out of Jusco, I glanced into the car parked next to us and let out a sharp intake of breath. There was a blanket covering the backseat of the car, and in the seat was a doll, dressed in regular clothes!!! It had scared me! I gestured over to Yatchan and he laughed, neither of us could figure out why it was there! On the way home, Yatchan told me a sad story though. Sometimes in the summer, parents go into a Pachinko (slots) place, leaving their kids in the car, and forget about them. And there have been stories of children dying from sun exposure/heat/lack of water, etc.
Yatchan and I watched TV and hung out together till late in the night again, and we had a great time!

Thanks for reading, I hope you enjoyed! We are almost done our journey together, but stay tuned because I will let you know when it is done!

20130320-154240.jpg

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by jacquee on March 21, 2013 at 7:14 am

    Seems like even the games are educational in some way. Do Yatchan & Catherine live in a house? Do you know what kind of fiber is in those wonderful undergarments? I’ll bet you got a lot of use with them this winter!! I guess the ‘sad story’ is really universal. Maybe the doll was a memorial to what might have happened in that family. I’m with you to the end of this wonderful saga! hugs J

    Reply

    • Yep, they live in a small, but extremely nice, house. The undergarments are made partly of polyester, cotton, rayon, spandex and nylon
      Thanks a lot 🙂
      Chris

      Reply

  2. Posted by ecosophian on March 21, 2013 at 3:03 pm

    I can’t believe you were in JAPAN, and decided to buy UNDERWEAR!!!
    To each their own!
    Dad

    Reply

Leave a Reply

