Japan 2012; An epic adventure post 25

From the journal of Christopher Sanford Beck on November 3 2012

I woke up pretty early this morning, which was kind of surprising since I went to bed so late! We had a good breakfast together and Yuta, Kazuya and I played together for a little while before dropping Kazuya off at home. It was really fun to have a sleepover with him and Yuta, and sleepovers in Japan are exactly the same as in Canada! After we dropped Kazuya off they also dropped me off. I was so thankful that I could have a sleepover with the two of them because they, and Hayatay, have been amazing friends! After I got home, I hung our with , Yatchan Cat and the kids for a while and we all played together outside. Hayatay was also playing outside so we did some J-Boarding together. As I took me turn on the board and coasted around the block I was struck by the hospitality and kindness and acceptance of everybody that I had interacted with during my stay here in Japan. I doubt I will every be able to pay them back for all they have done for me.
Around 5:00 PM, Yatchan dropped us off at a restaurant, little did I know that it was my good-bye party, which they had decided to do a few days before I actually left. Almost everybody came! Yuta, Sayu(ne), Ayako, Ayako’s husband, Kazuya and his mom and sister, Reiko, Momoka, Keito, Reiko’s husband, Ena, Sayu, Sioko, Reito, and Maseko. To list a few! It was a real party. We had the whole upper floor of the restaurant, which had low tables with cushions and tatami mats all around. The food was delicious, but being able to play and talk with everybody was even better. I was elated. I was so thankful towards everybody for doing this for me and they have made a lasting impact on my life. I spent time alternating between playing with the kids, building forts out of cushions and playing on DS’s, and talking with the adults. Catherine and I both made little speeches and I was glad that I had a chance to express my gratitude. Just when I thought that things couldn’t get any better, they pulled out a gift bag! I couldn’t believe that they had gotten me a gift! There were two beautiful T-Shirts, an awesome neck warmer and a heartwarming card. It was such an emotional gathering and I had tears in my eyes. I was going to miss everybody and everything so much and I pledged to myself, then and there, that this was NOT going to be the last time I went to Japan.

Thanks for reading, please leave a comment if you wish, I love feedback
P.S. The pictures are all from the party, except for the last one, which is from the sleepover.

20130319-141920.jpg

20130319-141936.jpg

20130319-142009.jpg

20130319-142020.jpg

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by jacquee on March 20, 2013 at 2:37 am

    Oh Christopher, I am crying too!! What a wonderful surprise party. You have been so blessed to have met so many new friends. A month can be a lifetime & I’m sure you will return in your future. But your ties to all of them will remain with you always in your heart. Thank you for sharing your trip & I look forward to the few days left. Could you show me how to use chop sticks sometime? hugs J

    Reply

  2. Posted by ecosophian on March 20, 2013 at 3:13 pm

    And I DO hope you are able to get back there someday … time to save some shekels! More babysitting!
    Dad

    Reply

  3. haha, I AM saving shekels, I have over $200 put away in the bank!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

