Japan 2012; An epic adventure post 23

From the journal of Christopher Sanford Beck on November 1

Today Ayana was home from school so everybody, except Yatchan who had to work, slept in. We got up and out of bed at around 9:30 (I bet my parents are jealous) and we where all feeling the need for some breakfast. Since we had coupons, Catherine decided to take us to McDonald’s for breakfast!!! I thought that was pretty crazy! We had gone to the McDonald’s location in Jusco so that the kids could go to the indoor playground which was a few floors up from McDonald’s. they had a good time and it reminded me of the fun factory in Saskatoon. Once we got home I played with Ayana and Ats for a while, did some J-Boarding, and read a little. The afternoon had flown past and before I knew it, Eriko, Hayatay’s mother, was at our door and Ayana and I were on our way to the Sushi bar. Ayana had told me a lot about the Sushi Bar and I was really looking forward to it. I found it kind of strange because I expected Hayatay would be coming with us. Almost as soon as I thought that, I felt a tap on my shoulder. Turning around abruptly, I saw Hayatay, grinning at me over the back of my seat, sitting in the trunk! They have a mini van, so the trunk was connected to the rest of the car. I was really surprised to see him and nearly jumped put of my seat! Eriko and Hayatay burst out laughing and I couldn’t help grinning, what a great friend.
Once we arrived at the Sushi Bar, a waitress seated us and gave us empty cups that we could fill at a soft drink machine, which also had water. Beside us, there was a huge conveyor belt that went around and around to all of the booths and had several different plates with different types of Sushi on it. Ayana had told me that afternoon that once, while she was at a similar Sushi Bar with her grandpa, he had put his glasses on the conveyor belt and they had watched it go around and around and around! If you saw something that you wanted on the conveyor belt, you grabbed it! Or if you wanted something specific, or something that was too big to come on the Sushi Belt, you could “special order it” on a touch screen beside you. A few minutes later, it came to your booth via another conveyor belt. The sushi was AMAZING!!! And I tried lots of different types. After we had eaten our fill, and special ordered some dessert, we paid and went home. Once we got home, Ayana and I went to Haytay’s house and Eriko gave Ayana a bath and helped her get ready for bed while I played with Hayatay. Bathing/getting them ready for bed, is something that is just seen as another form of neighbourliness in Japan. Thanking Eriko and Hayatay, we went home and went to bed! What a great day!
P.S. The picture doesn’t have anything to do with today, but I thought you might want to see it. It’s the park beside the Shukijo.

Thanks f

20130317-205452.jpg

Leave a Reply

