Japan 2012; An epic adventure post 21

From the journal of Christopher Sanford Beck on October 30, 2012

Today Cat, Atsushi and I had a good morning at home until about 10:30, when we went to Jusco. Catherine had some shopping tondo and I thought it would be a good occasion to buy the gifts that I was going to bring home. I really like Jusco. I’m not sure what it is about it, but I just really like it! I guess it’s partly because I like shopping in general!
Catherine had a couple of classes to teach this afternoon, both of which were for kids Ayana’s age, so I decided to go out for a walk around the neighbourhood that the Shukijo was in. I had never walked around this neighbourhood, or explored around the Shukijo, so I thought it would be an adventure! I bought a Pepsi at one of the vending machines and set out. Pepsi that you buy from a vending machine in Japan is almost twice as large as one in Canada! While I walked, I just used my intuition to find my way around, and even though I didn’t know exactly where I was, I felt completely safe and aware. This walk gave me a great time to think in quiet. I couldn’t believe that I only had a week left here in Japan. The time had flown so quickly. I thought about the fact that in another week I would be back at home, with my family, in Canada! A wave of excitement ran through my body. But then a pang of sorrow also hit me. I was going to miss Catherine and Yatchan, Ayana and Atsushi, Ayako, Yuta & Sayu, and everybody else. I was really going to miss Japan. There was going to be a change when I got home, more than just a culture change, I was going to have a bedtime! I wouldn’t be able to walk down the block and buy a pop! I laughed to myself. Being in Japan was sure a party! But cheer up, I thought to myself, you still have a week here!
By the time I got back to the Shukijo, the last class was just about over, and in about half an hours time, we were back at home eating supper. Shortly after Catherine started putting the kids to bed, Yatchan got home! After he changed out of his work clothes and had some supper, we hopped into the car and drove down to 7 11. Yep, they have 7 11 in Japan! Anyways, Yatchan bought some beer and he bought me a Calpis. Calpis is a sweet non caffeinated drink in Japan that has a completely unique taste. We also bought some Onigiri (Rice Balls with different stuff in the middle) one Tuna and Mayo and one fish egg. They were delicious! When we got home, Yatchan and I ate our snack and watched tv until around 1:30AM. It was great! What an awesome day.

Thanks for reading, hope you enjoyed. Please leave a comment and share with your friends!

20130315-115832.jpg

Leave a Reply

