Japan 2012; an epic adventure post 15

From the journal of Christopher Sanford Beck on October 24 2012

Last night, Yatchan had been away on a business trip to Hokkaido (the northern island of Japan) and had brought back a treat for us, BlackThunder!!!! Black Thunder is, in my opinion, the best chocolate in the world. Take your favourite chocolate and multiply the goodness about 10 times and you’ve got close to the goodness of Black Thunder. Anyways, we shared out a bit of it and had breakfast. After we were done and Ayana was on the bus I went outside and did some J-Boarding. J-Boarding is some what like skateboarding except way harder! The board has only two wheels, which can swivel 360 degrees, and they are fixed on the bottom of the board on either end. In the middle of the board is a piece which can turn a little. What you do is stand with feet on each end and balance, once you have a bit of balance you must swivel your hips and legs to make the board move! Once you get the hang of it, you can turn, slow down, speed up, do three sixties, etc! I loved J-Boarding! I had tried It once in Canada but to no avail. So I J-Boarded around the neighbourhood a little while until it was time for Catherine, Ats and I to go to Jusco, the mall. I really liked the mall, it had several stories and was bigger than all the malls in Canada that I had ever been in, well, not the West Edmonton Mall, but you get my point. The reason we had gone to the mall today was so that I could buy the special indoor shoes that I would need tomorrow when I went to school with Yuta!
Once we where done our shopping, I J-Boarded a little more, until our neighbour Hiyatay came over for his English lesson around five. Putting away the J-Board (which Hiyatay was letting me borrow) I went inside with him and the lesson started. I really liked going to the English lessons for the kids my age and usually participated. Today though, it turned put to be a Japanese lesson! I think that I learned as much Japanese as Hiyatay learned English! Here’s the list of words I learnt.
Aka-red
Mushi-bug
Kenken-hop
Pet-pet
Oh toe san- father
Oh toe ko-man
Ju-ten
Roku- six
Taiyo- sun
Oishii kata- past tense of Oishii

After the lesson was done, Hiyatay’s mother came over and Hiyatay, Ayana, Catherine and I carved pumpkins together. This was the first time I had ever carved a pumpkin entirely by myself. Carving pumpkins isn’t usually an activity in Japan, but Catherine’s family does because it’s Catherine’s tradition. All of the pumpkins tuned out really well! Mine had one circle eye and a slit for the other, an upside down triangle as the nose, and a three toothed mouth. After admiring our finished products and cleaning up, we had a home made buffet including crab, dumplings, pork, vegetables, and ice cream for dessert.
I had had an awesome day and was extremely excited for tomorrow when I go to school with Yuta. I am also very nervous, but Ayako says that everyone is looking forward to meeting me.

Thanks for reading please comment and if you feel like sharing, do so!
P.S. One of the pictures is Black Thunder and the other is our pumpkins.

20130308-102352.jpg

20130308-102428.jpg

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by ecosophian on March 8, 2013 at 4:44 pm

    loving the pumpkins!
    dad

    Reply

  2. Posted by jacquee on March 8, 2013 at 7:18 pm

    GREAT PUMPKINS!! Must have taken you a while to clean those out. J-Boarding sounds CHALLENGING! Do you wear any knee & elbow pads or just grin & bear the bumps & scrapes that might come? I was wondering how you remember all these new Japanese words & how do you learn to put them into sentences? Good luck with school tomorrow. Why did you need special shoes? By the way, the picture you had on your last posting was precious!! hugs J

    Reply

    • Thanks for your comment Jacquee! J-Boarding is hard, and I didn’t wear pads or a helmet or anything, I didn’t have any! But I only got one or two major scrapes ;). I don’t know how I remember all of the words, I guess I just memorized them. I didn’t really use them in whole sentences, just bits and pieces. For example, one day Ayana brought a bug to the shukijo and I was looking at it with the parents.
      Me: Koi mushi (scared, bug)
      Moms: so so so so (Yeah yeah yeah yeah!)
      So my sentances where fragmented, but people still understood! I’m not exactly sure why I needed the specific shoes, but nobody had any other type when I went to school!
      Thanks about the picture, that is Ayana!
      Chris

      Reply

Leave a Reply

