Japan 2012; an epic adventure post 14

From the journal of Christopher Sanford Beck on October 23 2012

Today was a nice quiet day and I got to spend lots of time hanging out with Atsushi, Ayako, and later on Ayana. Ayako had come over to help look after Atsushi while Catherine was teaching. While she was over, she also helped me work on my studies Hiragana and Katakana which are the two most common ways of writing in Japan. Ayako is extremely helpful. She spent some time as a child in New York and to this day can speak great English. But she is Japanese, so she also speaks great Japanese! I learned three new words from her today, kowa ku ni which means “I am not scared”, ski ja ari masen which means “I don’t like it” and dame (dahm-ae) which means “don’t do that”. Later on in the day, I walked over to the bus stop and waited for Ayana’s bus to come. While I was waiting, more of the moms who where there to pick up their kids came and I was able to have a nice conversation with them using a combination of my Japanese, their English and hand gestures! Sometimes it is very hard for me to tell what people are trying to tell me, but I have definitely gotten better at understanding. Sometimes while watching T.V. Or on the train, I can understand little bits and pieces of what they are saying, this is very exciting for me!
This whole trip has been more and more exciting for me as I learn more and more about Japanese people and culture. It makes me really sad to think that I will be leaving in not to long.

Thanks for reading, please leave a comment and tell your friends about this blog!
Chris

20130307-172539.jpg

Leave a Reply

