Japan 2012; an epic adventure post 9

October nineteenth from the journal of Christopher Sanford beck.

Today I slept very well, but woke early at 6:00. For breakfast we had eggs pork, yogurt and granola, quite an unusual breakfast! Catherine Ats and I had a nice long walk down to the post office, where Catherine had to pick something up. She and I had a great conversation about the japanese language and writing. Once we got home it was time for Atsushi to have his nap, so I had some cheese and crackers along with rice for my lunch. Once she woke up, Catherine found some Japanese textbooks and work sheets so that I could do some studying during the afternoon, which I really enjoyed!
A little while after we had finished supper, a nice white stew, Hiyatay and his mother came over and Catherine, Atsushi, Ayana and I left with them to go bouldering. Bouldering is very similar to rock climbing, in fact is is a form of rock climbing. Except when bouldering you don’t wear a harness and there are no ropes. The wall is only around ten feet tall, and there are soft mats underneath. We picked up another one of Hiyatay’s friends before heading to the (bouldering) gym. I had an amazing time climbing. I love to climb in Canada, so I was pleasantly surprised to have a chance to do so in Japan! There were a lot of really hard routes that every one had trouble with, but other than that everyone did great! I used a lot of the Japanese I had practiced this afternoon. I also learned a new word, Arigato goziamashta. Which means thank you in the past tense.
It was a great day!

Thank you so much for reading and stay tuned for more tomorrow.

20130215-120903.jpg

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by jacquee on February 17, 2013 at 7:57 am

    Glad you got in a different kind of rock climbing. Did anyone fall? 10′ is still a ways off the ground! Are you learning to read & write Japanese as well? Is that Hiyatay in the photo? How can there be a past tense to ‘thank you’? Sure am liking your description of the meals. J

    Reply

    • yes, there were a lot of falls! But it was a great time for all of us. I am learning to read and write, but it is VERY hard! That is Hiyatay. Im glad that you like them, i sure liked eating them!
      C

      Reply

Leave a Reply

