Japan 2012; An epic adventure post 6

Monday October fifteenth
From the journal of Christopher Sanford Beck

Today everybody (not including Yatchan) slept in a bit! It had been a big day yesterday. Unfortunately that put us back a bit in our schedule and throughout the whole day we were Giedi geidi, which I would describe as meaning very late and barely making it. After a rushed but delicious breakfast of Meccan Oranges (very similar to Mandarin oranges, but grown in Japan) and PB&J bagels, Catherine got Ayana ready for school, and walked (well more like ran) to the bus stop while I hung out with Ats(ushi).
From here on in, the day was very busy, Catherine teaches five classes on Mondays, so I got to spend a lot of time hanging out with Ats. For lunch we had Meccan’s and ham and cheese sandwiches, yum! Then Catherine got Ats down for his nap and I go a bit of downtime to read and text my friends back home. Once Atushi woke up, we picked Ayana up and headed back to the Shukijo for more lessons! I did several little magic shows for the kids and their parents, and I got a very good response of “Sugio!” (Great). One of the lessons was Yuta’s lesson and I participated in it with him. After the lesson was over, Yuta, Sayune and I all hung out and played in the park together until it was time to head home. We had a lovely supper of curry and rice before Catherine put the kids to bed. Later in the evening Catherine and I had very good conversations, including talking about speaking Japanese.
I learned two words today. Geidi geidi, and koi (I am scared) later on I also learned koi deska (are you scared) and koa ku nigh (I’m not scared)

Thank you for reading and I hope you enjoyed! I will post another entry tomorrow.

20130212-114346.jpg

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by jacquee on February 12, 2013 at 9:12 pm

    Is a shukijo a learning center, a community center or just a rented room? How much Japanese did you know before you went? Those sliding panels behind Atsushi, are they windows or walls & what are they made of? I’m enjoying your perspective of this cultural life & eager to learn more. peace J

    Reply

  2. The Shukijo is more like a community center, its mainly one big room, but there are also washrooms and a kitchen as well as storage space. But you do have to rent it. The sliding panels are kind of like blinds, and they open up to “life sized” windows that you can walk through.
    Glad that you like it!

    Reply

  3. Posted by grandpa on February 13, 2013 at 3:31 am

    Hello again,
    Nice work Christopher. I come down everyday to see if you have sent another posting. It appears that being in a rush and always on the go was part and aprcel of your Japanese adventurw.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Emerson Sanford on February 13, 2013 at 4:55 am

    Hi, Christopher: I am pretty bogged down these days working with your mom, trying to get the last volume of Life of the Trail finished, but I take time each day to read of your epic adventure. Each day I look forward to the next installment. Keep up the good work. Love, Dampa

    Reply

    • Hi Dampa!
      I bet you are busy with the book! When is the deadline?
      Thank you for taking some time to read my postings and I’m glad that you like reading them!
      Love
      Chris

      Reply

  5. Posted by Mrs. K on February 13, 2013 at 12:28 pm

    Hey Chris!
    What an amazing experience you had! You have learned so much about another culture firsthand. I am lucky because I get to learn through you! How do you prepare squid to eat it? What did it taste like? Was it chewy?

    Mrs. K

    Reply

    • Hi Mrs. Kindrachuk,
      It was an amazing experience, I learned so much during my one moth there; more than I thought I would learn. There are a lot of different ways to prepare squid, BBQ’ed it. It tasted very unique, the closest I can get to the taste is similar to chicken. And yes! It was extremely chewy!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

