Japan 2012; An epic adventure post 3

After my early awakening, and waiting for others to get up, I had an amazing breakfast of vanilla yogurt, milk and a banana. I then played blocks with Ayana and Atsushi, and we had a great time making “sandwiches” with a sandwich set that they had. After playing with the kids for a while, it was time for Ayana to go to school. Yatchan had already gone to work, because he has to ride the trains for about an hour to get to work, but Catherine and Atsushi and I walked Ayana to the bus stop. It was a good chance for me to get the lay of the land around the house, and to chat with Catherine about various aspects of life in Japan. One thing that I learned was that kids in Japan have to walk to school, often long distances, without parents. That starts after they are finished kindergarten. But the Japanese kids have specific walking groups of kids, all different ages, that look out for each other. At the bus stop was the first time I experienced Japanese speaking people talking to other Japanese speaking people! At first, I didn’t think that I would be able to pick it up at all, but I was wrong.
Walking around, I noticed how many vending machines there are outside. There are machines selling drinks, cigarettes, alcohol, toys, umbrellas, almost anything! I suppose that the reason we don’t have so many vending machines in Canada is that it gets to cold to keep them outside in the winter, but that’s not a problem where Catherine lives (Saitama, Japan, near Tokyo).
After taking Ayana to the bus stop, I went with Catherine and Atsushi to Catherine’s first English lesson. The women that were taking the lesson were very interested in Canada and my life back home, and I tried my best to explain, with a lot of help from Catherine! I played with Atsushi until the lesson was over, and then we walked home to enjoy left over spaghetti and ham and cheese sandwiches. After lunch, we all had some down time, and I texted my friends in Canada. During that time, there was an earth quake! It was very small, but till scared me! I had never experienced anything like it before.
A bit later in the afternoon, we picked up Ayana from the bus stop, and headed to the Shukijo, a building next to a park that Catherine rented for her English lessons. I played with Atsushi and Ayana while Catherine taught two more classes.
Once the classes were over, we had a great supper at home of rice and Oden. I fell asleep around nine, and slept great!

Thanks for reading! I will try to post again tomorrow.

20130209-180057.jpg

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by jacquee on February 10, 2013 at 1:54 am

    WOW!! 2nd day there & already an earthquake, irreguardless of how small!! I would have been shaking in more than my boots! Are the children taught at an early age of what to do if there is a bigger one? What is oden? You’ve got me riveted now. Excited to hear what will come. peace J

    Reply

  2. Haha yes it was by scary for me, but also pretty exciting! I am glad you are liking it!!
    Oden is a Japanese dish including eggs, veggies and I think some meat.

    Reply

  3. And yes, children are taught about earthquakes

    Reply

Leave a Reply

