Japan 2012; an epic adventure post 2

From the journal of Christopher Sanford Beck
October tenth twenty twelve
Today was the day of my big trip! It was great. I was really nervous during my time in the Calgary airport, but once I was on the plane, I felt better. I knew it was going to be amazing.
On the plane, I watched several episodes of my favourite T.V. show (The Big Bang Theory), watched a few movies, looked out the window and drink a few Cokes. The view from the window was incredible. We were well above cloud line, and it was so different to be looking down at the clouds instead of up! When the sky was clear and while we were lower (take of and landing) the ocean, mountains, and eventually, the Narita Airport, were beautiful. During the plane ride, I was seated next to an elderly Japanese lady, who didn’t speak much English, but with my small knowledge of Japanese, and hers of English, we were able to communicate a little.
My first sight of Japan was amazing! So lush around the airport. It was love at first sight. After getting of the plane and getting through customs, I met up with Catherine and Ayana (5) and Atsushi (2). After hugs and wishing Ayana a happy fifth birthday, we took two trains to the station nearest to their house. I was amazed and loved it even more! The jet lag wasn’t bad, (though I did crack around eight thirty!) and I enjoyed some delicious spaghetti, courtesy of Catherine’s husband Yatchan, before unloading my gear and falling asleep. I slept well, until about 1 in the morning and could not fall back to sleep. I made the best of it by texting my friends back in Canada, for whom it was a lot later in the day! So far, my experience has been better than I could have imagined!

Thus ends day one in Japan! I will try to post the next day tomorrow!

20130208-163241.jpg

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by jacquee on February 9, 2013 at 12:07 am

    HURRAY!!!!!!! (clap,clap!) With a picture like this, I feel like I’m along for the ride! That is an AWESOME shot. Did it take many days to get your ‘internal body clock’ more comfortable to live with? I am so ‘tickled’ that I get to go on this virtual trip. Thanks J

    Reply

  2. Haha I’m glad that you like it! I took that about halfway, I will try to post pictures as well! It actually only took me less than a day, after waking at 1 that first night, everything else went well! I hope that you enjoy the rest of the journal entries, and feel free to share it with your friends!
    Chris

    Reply

  3. Posted by ecosophian on February 9, 2013 at 3:21 am

    Great writing Christopher! It will be good to re-live this adventure with you!
    Love,
    Dad

    Reply

Leave a Reply

