story

Hey every one! I thought i would post a short story that i wrote for me my auntie jacquee.
Enjoy!

It’s Tuesday May 1st and I wanted to try out the bike that my Aunt had given me the previous day. Excited by the new gadgets and gear my Dad and I set out on a long ride to the U of S for a drink at Browsers Café. It was a long ride and we biked quickly for fear of the rain. I was amazed with my bike at the gears; it had been so long since I didn’t have to walk my bike up all the hills!

It was going fine up until the university bridge, where it started to rain. We both pulled over so that I could change out of my leather jacket and into my rain coat and pants, which I had stored in the saddle bag.

“Dad!” I called out.

“Yes?” He replied

“I can’t see a thing.”

And I couldn’t. In the few minutes it had taken me to get from my leather jacket to my rain clothes, the light shower had turned into a down pour.

“Just stay right behind me.” Dad called back over the torrent of rain pounding on us.

So I followed him very closely up the bridge. But about halfway up the bridge, I stopped to readjust my helmet.

“Just a sec Dad!” I called up the bridge.

No answer. I hoped that his reply had only been taken away by the wind, but a feeling in my gut suggested that he hadn’t heard me.

Determined to catch up, I put my gears onto two and peddled as fast as I could.

“Dad! Daaaaaad! Please wait up!”

I knew it was hopeless; I would just have to go on by myself and meet him at Browsers. So on I biked. I made it up the bridge and was getting ready to cross my first street when I noticed something strange. I looked up from the ground to check for cars, when I realized that there were no cars, as were there no street! Where was I?! I squinted to try to see through the rain to all of my surroundings, but I must have been squinting too hard, because right in front of me I saw a huge creature made entirely of rain! I stopped squinting so that I could see what it really was; but to my surprise it was still the same thing!

“Ahh!” I yelled, and the thing looked at me.

“What are you!?” I shrieked.

“I,” The thing said in a deep rumbling voice,

“Am the Rain Spirit!”

“Oh” I squeaked

I knew that something great and mysterious was happening, something ancient and powerful,

and is scared my pants off.

“Please, Oh, great Spirit being,” I said in my voice that I used with great, powerful, scare your pants off, beings.

“take me back to where I belong!”

The Spirit being looked at me oddly.

“Why do you want to return?” He asked.

“I wish to return to my family, and to walk again with my own race.”

-BEEP-BEEP-BEEP-BEEP-BEEP-BEEP-BEEP-BEEP-BEEP-BEEP-BEEP-BEEP-BEEP

My eyes opened, and I was lying in my room, my alarm clock ringing wildly, signaling that it was 9:00 and time to get up.

“Hey Christopher!” Dad exclaimed

“You wanna bike down to browsers today?”

THE END

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Jacquee on May 6, 2012 at 11:21 pm

    GREAT story Christopher!! Thank you soooo much! You definitely have a gift with conversation in the written word. I hope you have many happy ‘cycling days’ ahead. peace Jacquee

    Reply

  2. Thanks so much antie jacquee!

    Reply

  3. hey Chris it’s Nyang i want to visit you this summer could you tell me adress

    Reply

  4. I’ll be on the internet at around 5:00

    Reply

Leave a Reply

