Stress with Voting and Libya

Hey guys! Have you been stressing over the vote coming up? I sure have, and I’m not even old enough to vote! The stress of knowing that your vote and others, will effect the county(and in October the province) for how many years?! I don’t want to lean your vote a certain way, thats a private decision, and I certainly wont ask who you’re voting for! But I sure hope that the Conservatives or even Liberal don’t win.I don’t really think that Green Party has much of a chance, but there is a thing going on about a vote swap. For those of you not familiar with the vote swap, it’s a thing where you trade your,say Green Party vote, from a riding GP doesn’t have a chance of winning, with someone in a riding were GP does have a chance oof wining. And it goes vice versa with a, say NDP, vote. If you are still not sure of what I’m talking about, comment, and I’ll try to help you!

Also what have you been thinking of the stuff in Libya? I cant get my polls going, but tell me in the comment space, what you think of the conflict and especially the NATO air strikes.

P.S. Make sure to, if you want more of my blogging, go into the archives for previously wrote stuff!

12 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Klaus Gruber on April 12, 2011 at 12:31 am

    I share your concern regarding the election. I am afraid of another Conservative government. Less afraid of a Liberal one. The idea of a vote swap has some potential, however in my riding, there is noone to swap with. Lynn Yellich will almost certainly win unless something dramatic happens. If there is a chance that she can be defeated, I will vote for whoever can defeat her so won’t have a vote to switch.

    I am very concerned about Lybia and, as usual, the world stands by until there are virtually not options other than military ones. It then becomes difficult to say “don’t intervene” when civilians are being killed. However, as usual, the intervention also kills civilians and the cycle continues. What we need is long term anticipatory solutions such as global institutions that can help countries resolve conflict. We also need to make war illegal. Perhaps you can tell I am an old World Federalist. I do hope that the Lybian regime ends the fighting soon and I also hope that the rebels don’t become a worse alternative. It looks like things will go better in Cote D’ivoire

    Reply

    • Hey Klaus! With the vote swap, the idea is to swap your vote with someone in a different riding, like say in your riding, theres a good chance of the Green Party winning but you want to vote NDP, you would give your NDP vote to someone in, say, my riding, were NDP has a good chance of winning and I(if I were old enough!) would vote NDP for you, and you would vote Green Party for me. Make sense?

      I know exactly how you feel with Libya, I really wish the world had done something before military was the only option, or even try to talk with Gadhafi once conflict was needed before sending troops. I think that the rebels are doing a better job at trying to keep civilians safe then pro Gadhafi forces. I heard this mourning that Gadhafi troops had recently shot six or seven unarmed civilians in a city. The opposition is evil and trigger happy, and we must do whatever we can to stop them. I wish we could do it in a more civil manner, but if NATO air strikes is what it takes to get Gadhafi out of the country, then we should do it with the least casualties possible. War being illegal would be awesome, it would probably take a life time but it would be great!

      Thanks for your view and keep comin’ back!
      Crowshire

      Reply

  2. Posted by Dammie on April 12, 2011 at 4:02 am

    Well Christopher, by the time you are old enough to vote you will have it all figured out!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Emerson Sanford on April 12, 2011 at 11:49 pm

    Hi, Christopher: I accidentally posted a reply under “where the wild things are”. You can read it there.

    Love, Dampa

    Reply

  4. Thats ok! I got it! All post are also sent to my email.

    Love ya!
    Crowshire

    Reply

  5. Posted by Michele on April 13, 2011 at 1:20 pm

    Hey, Christopher! I watched the debate last night, and thought Jack Layton was great. However, in my riding, the majority votes in a terrible MP who gets vots because he espouses racist and homophobic beliefs and says he is a “Christian.” Somehow, I don’t think Jesus would agree with his views.

    As for Libya, I agree with you. I HATE violence, but also think that we cannot let those people be slaughtered. M

    Reply

  6. Ha ha! Your so funny!

    As for Libya, I’m with you as well.

    Crowshire

    Reply

  7. Posted by jfalardeau on May 2, 2011 at 4:45 am

    I am very careful about poltical comments. I don’t vote unless they give me something to vote for. So far I’ve heard only retoric from all parties. Give me one party that will look after ‘THE PEOPLE’, & their needs. The parties are all scatered! Some want to look after this & some want to look after that, but no one wants to look after us. And so our money is spent. WHY!! Sorry to reply to you, an 11 yr. old that is trying to understand the system that we have to move within at this time. Hopefully it will get better. peace J

    Reply

  8. Posted by crowshire on May 4, 2011 at 11:24 pm

    No worries about telling me! I’m very politically involved. As for your other comment, Jack Layton. TTYL

    Reply

  9. Posted by jacquee on May 21, 2011 at 5:43 am

    Hi Crowshire When I have voted, it has always been NDP. But I’m beginning to feel we need some ‘new blood’ in our political system. I think it’s the SYSTEM that needs a re-vamp because the good people we elect have too many restrictions to operate within. Hope I don’t have to wait another 10 yrs. to vote for you if you decide to take that avenue. peace Jacquee

    Reply

  10. Posted by crowshire on May 22, 2011 at 1:29 am

    🙂 :):):):):):):):):)Just aslong as the “new blood” isn’t conservative!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

